Spring Limbo

I double checked the time this morning, as it seemed too bright, brilliantly light out, in fact. “Am I late for work?  How could it be this sunny out, when it’s usually so pitch black dark, at this inhumanly hour?” I questioned myself and then sucked in my relief that the time was correct, and the sun was justified in being up and out so early. This simple realization hit me and I smiled at this signal, that the days of Spring Limbo were here, once again.  Rather than drone on about the cold, or the never-ending Winter, or the danger of more snow, I was armed with a renewed sense of hope and purpose.  Only 23 days until the official start of Spring (free Rita’s Water Ice for all!) and with any luck some warm days will play leapfrog with the chill.

This year, as Mother Nature throws back her blankets of snow, and comes out of a long slumber, I vow to exercise patience.  Instead of lamenting the fact that Spring isn’t here fast enough, I will uncover the hidden joys of Spring Limbo.  I can easily while away the hours, savoring garden planning and seed starting, without having to worry about the weeds just yet.  Maybe I will even finish reading a novel or two on a lazy, chilly day, most likely with a warming mug of coffee in my hand.  Perhaps some house refreshing is in order, but can be done presently at the slow pace of Winter’s end, rather than the frenetic motion of rigorous, whole-house Spring cleaning. I do still need a jacket in the morning, and the dark will return when the clocks change, but for now, I can relish in the promise that the Vernal Equinox is primping for her stroll down the runway, during Mother Nature’s Annual Fashion Week.

Waterhouse,_John_William_-_Flora_and_the_Zephyrs_-_1898

Flora and the Zephyrs – 1898 – John William Waterhouse

Source: http://www.johnwilliamwaterhouse.com/assets/images/content/waterhouse/hi/waterhouse178.jpg
About Shannon Vare Christine

Living the writerly life in Bucks County, PA. Sometimes the funniest, most inspirational and memorable moments are those that happen in our day-to-day lives. Stop.Notice.Laugh.Enjoy
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

